Geographical Structure of Haryana | Location and Extent of Haryana

Geographical Structure of Haryana | Location and Extent of Haryana: The geographical structure of Haryana has been changing overtime. The present form of the state has come into existence as a result of the interaction of the endogenic and exogenic forces and horizontal structure of the plate.

The state of Haryana lies in the vast plains between the Ganga river system in the East and Indus river system in the West. Yamuna, a tributary of Ganga is the only major river flowing through the state. There are other small non–perennial rivers and lakes in the state.

You can also check Haryana General Knowledge Question Bank for HPSC and other exams.

  • Join our Official Telegram Channel HERE for Motivation and Fast Updates

  • Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Motivational and Exam analysis videos

Read moreHaryana Current Affairs 2023-2024 PDF Download in English and Hindi

Read moreHaryana Monthly Current Affairs 2023-2024 PDF Download in English and Hindi

Location and Extent of Haryana

Haryana is located in the North-Western part of India and in the Southern part of the Indus plains (also known as Punjab plains).

The Indus-Ganga Plain surrounds most of the land area of the state.

It is located 300 miles away from the Tropic of Cancer in the Northern direction.

It is situated between 27°39′ to 30°55′ 55″ North latitude and 74°27′ 8″ to 77°36′ 5″ East longitude.

The total latitudinal and longitudinal extension of state is 3°16′ 5″ and 3°8′ 57″, respectively which expresses its shape.

It is a landlocked state. The state has a total area of 44,212sq km which is 1.34% of the country’s total area. In terms of area, it is the 21st largest state of India.

There are 22 districts in the state. Sirsa (4,277sq km) is the largest district of the state in the terms of area where as Faridabad (743 sq km) is the smallest district.

Read more: Formation of Haryana as a Separate State

Extend of Boundary of Haryana

Haryana shares its border with 5 States and 2 Union Territories, which are as follows:

—Himachal Pradesh lies in the North-East,

—Rajasthan in South-West,

—Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Uttarakhand in East,

—Punjab and Chandigarh in North-West.

Delhi and Chandigarh are Union Territories. Haryana is surrounded by Delhi from three sides. Chandigarh is also the capital of Haryana. Haryana shares longest boundary with Rajasthan (about 1262 km) and shortest with Uttarakhand (about 12 km).

Read more: Modern History of Haryana

The natural boundaries of the state include the Shivalik ranges in its North-East, the Aravali hills in the South, the Yamuna River in the East and the desert of Rajasthan in the South-West. River Yamuna demarcates boundary between Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. It flows towards the Eastern border of Haryana.

  • Nuh (Mewat) district shares border with Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.
  • Yamunanagar district shares border with three states namely, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.
  • Panchkula district shares border with two states namely, Punjab and Himachal Pradesh and one Union Territory i.e. Chandigarh
  • Jind district shares border with highest number of districts in Haryana. It shares borders with 7 districts i.e. Fatehabad, Hisar, Rohtak, Sonipat, Panipat, Karnal and Kaithal.
  • Rohtak and Charkhi Dadri are only districts of Haryana which do not share borders with any State or Union Territory. Rohtak district shares border with Jind, Hisar, Bhiwani, Charkhi Dadri, Jhajjar and Sonipat.
  • Mahendragarh district is surrounded by Rajasthan from three sides.
  • 14 districts (57% area of state) of Haryana are part of the National Capital Region.

Read more: Medieval History of Haryana

Divisions of Haryana on the Basis of Geographical Area

On the basis of geographical area, Haryana can be divided into three divisions. These are:

(i) Kurukshetra: It is situated between 28°30′ to 30° North Latitude and 76°21′ to 77°East Longitudes. Jind and Karnal are part of this division.

This area is quite important from the point of view of religion. Chautang River flows in this division and soil of Kurukshetra district is not sandy.

(ii) Haryana: It is situated between 29°30′ to 30° North Latitude. Fatehabad, Hansi, Hisar, Bhiwani and Rohtak districts lie in this division. This division is mainly inhabited by Jat people, thus, it is also called Jatiyaat area.

(iii) Bhattiana: This geographical division is situated between Fatehabad and Batu Tehsils. This division is dominated by the Bhati Rajputs from ancient time, thus, this area is known as Bhattiana.

Read more: Ancient History of Haryana

Read moreGeneral Studies of Haryana MCQs | Haryana GK Objective Question for HPSC Exams

Leave a comment