Who was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize?

Q. Who was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize?

[1] Rabindranath Tagore

[2] C. V. Raman

[3] Har Gobind Khorana

[4] Mother Teresa

[5] Amartya Sen

Answer: 1

Read moreObjective GK & GS Multiple Choice Questions and Answer

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913 for his collection of poems, Gitanjali. Tagore was a poet, playwright, essayist, novelist, and composer who wrote in Bengali and English. He is considered one of the greatest writers of the 20th century.

Tagore’s work is characterized by its lyrical beauty, its spiritual insights, and its universal appeal. His poems have been translated into over 100 languages, and his songs are sung all over the world. Tagore was also a strong advocate for Indian independence and for human rights.

Read moreMost Important Current Affairs MCQs

Here is a list of all Indians who have received a Nobel Prize, along with the year and field in which they were awarded:

  • Rabindranath Tagore (1913, Literature)
  • C. V. Raman (1930, Physics)
  • Har Gobind Khorana (1968, Physiology or Medicine)
  • Mother Teresa (1979, Peace)
  • Amartya Sen (1998, Economics)
  • Kailash Satyarthi (2014, Peace)
  • Abhijit Banerjee (2019, Economics)

India has produced six Nobel laureates in six different fields, which is a testament to the country’s rich intellectual and cultural heritage. These laureates have made significant contributions to their respective fields, and their work has had a positive impact on the world.

The Nobel Prize was established by Alfred Nobel, a Swedish inventor and industrialist. Nobel died in 1896, and in his will, he bequeathed his fortune to be used to establish five prizes, which became known as the Nobel Prizes. The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901.

Read more: Awards, Honours & Persons in News MCQs

The Nobel Prizes are awarded by the Nobel Foundation, a Swedish private institution. The Nobel Foundation is responsible for administering the Nobel Prizes, investing Nobel’s fortune, and selecting the Nobel laureates.

The Nobel Prize is awarded in the following academic fields:

  1. Physics
  2. Chemistry
  3. Physiology or Medicine
  4. Literature
  5. Peace
  6. Economics (Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel)

There is no Nobel Prize awarded in Mathematics. However, there are other prestigious awards in mathematics, such as the Fields Medal.

The Nobel Prizes are awarded annually to individuals or organizations that have made outstanding contributions to their respective fields. The prizes are considered to be the most prestigious awards in the world, and are highly sought-after by researchers and scholars.

  • Join our Official Telegram Channel HERE for Motivation and Fast Updates

  • Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Motivational and New analysis videos

Leave a comment