First in Rajasthan | Know Your State Rajasthan

Rajasthan is located in northwestern India, bounded on the west and northwest by Pakistan and shares domestic borders with the states of Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat. With a land area of 342,239 sq km, Rajasthan is the largest state in India geographically.

Rajasthan (Land of Kings) is a state in northern India. It covers 342,239 square kilometres (132,139 sq mi) or 10.4 per cent of India’s total geographical area. 

Rajasthan which is also known as the “Land of Maharajas” is the largest state of India, covering an area of about 342,239 sq. km. It comprises of 50 districts and its largest city is Jaipur, which is also its capital.

Read more: Know Your State Rajasthan | General Knowledge of Rajasthan

Read moreRajasthan Current Affairs Year Book 2023-2024 PDF Download in English and Hindi

First in Rajasthan

Governor                                                     Shri Gurmukh Nihal Singh

Chief Minister (nominated)                         Pandit Hira Lal Shastri

Chief Minister (Elected)                               Tikaram Paliwal

Chief Justice                                                Kamal Kant Verma

Assembly Speaker                                       Narottam Lal Joshi (31 March 1952)

Assembly Speaker                                       Lal Singh Shaktawat

First Protem Speaker                                   Maharawal Sangram Singh

First woman Chief Minister                         Vasundhara Raje

First leader of the opposition                     Jaswant Singh

First woman governor                                 Pratibha Patil

First woman speaker                                   Sumitra Singh

First woman Deputy Speaker                     Tara Bhandari

First woman minister                                   Kamla Beniwal

First woman MLA                                        Yashoda Devi (Banswara)

First woman pilot                                        Namrata Bhatt

First Lok Sabha member                              Maharani Gayatri Devi

First Rajya Sabha MP                                   Sharda Bhargava

First woman district Chief                            Nagendra Bala (Area – Hadauti)

First woman flying officer                            Nivedita

First film (Rajasthani film)                            Nazrana (1942)

First Cement Production Plant                   Lakheri, Bundi (1915)

First Padma Vibhushan Award                   Ghanshyam Das Birla

First Padma Bhushan Award                       Shri Kanwar Sen

First woman Padma Vibhushan                  Mrs. Ratan Shastri

First Engineering College                            MBM Engineering College, Jodhpur (1951)

First fully literate district                             Ajmer

First National Park                                       Ranthambore

First All India Radio Center                          Jaipur

First Doordarshan Kendra                           Jaipur

First municipality                                         Abu

First Stock Exchange                                    Jaipur

First Cooperative Society                            Bhinay, Ajmer (1905)

First State Finance Commissioner             Krishna Kumar Goyal

First chairman of the RPSC                          S. K. Ghosh

First Inspector General of Police               Shri P. Banerjee

First Director General of Police                  Raghunath Singh

First Param Vir Chakrar                               Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat

First Ramon Magsaysay Award                  PK Sethi

First woman Deputy Chief Minister         Kamla Beniwal

First Women’s Commission                         Kanta Kathuria

First film actress                                          Sunaina

First film actor                                             Mahipal

First Village Court                                       Bassi

First Shilpgram                                           ‘Hawala Gram’ (Udaipur)

First fully literate tribal district                    Dungarpur

First Lokayukta                                            I. D. Dua

First Khel Ratna Award                                Limbaram (Archery 1998)

  • Bhakti Sharma is the first woman from Rajasthan to swim across the English Channel.
  • Aruna Roy is the first woman from the state to receive the Ramon Magsaysay Award.
  • The first woman train driver of the state is ‘Veena Rajupat’, who first held the post in Kota Division.
  • The first Ashok Chakra winner is “Colonel Kishan Singh Rathore” (1948, Churu).
  • The first Vir Chakra winner is Squadron Leader Ajay Ahuja.
  • The first Shaurya Chakra is Major Dayachand (1999, Jhunjhunu).
  • The first Kirti Chakra winner is Pioneer Mool Singh.
  • The first village with telemedicine in the state is in Kaithoon village (Kota).
  • Nayla is the first gram Panchayat in the state to be connected to the internet.
  • The first agricultural farm of the state is ‘Suratgarh Agricultural Farm’ (Shri Ganganagar 1956).
  • The first cancer hospital of the state is located in Jaipur.
  • The first oil refinery of the state is in Barmer.

Read moreGeneral Studies of Rajasthan MCQs | Rajasthan GK Objective Question Bank for RPSC Exams

Read more: General Studies of Rajasthan For RPSC Assistant Professor Exam 2023

First and Only in Rajasthan

First Lady Police Station in RajasthanJaipur (1989)
First Biological Park of RajasthanNahargarh
India’s first Samvidhan Park (Constitution Park)Jaipur
Rajasthan’s first Special Economic ZoneJaipur for Gems & Jewellery and Jodhpur for handicrafts
Rajasthan’s first DNA LaboratorySMS Medical College, Jaipur
Rajasthan’s First Snake GardenKota
Rajasthan’s first Tribal Culture and Art MuseumUdaipur
Rajasthan’s first Open PrisonDurgapura
Rajasthan’s first Sainik SchoolChittorgarh (1961)
First Sanskrit University of RajasthanMadau (Bhankrota)
Rajasthan’s first ‘astro’ gardenJagadguru Ramanadacharya Rajasthan Sanskrit University (Bhankrota, Jaipur)
Rajasthan’s first hockey academy for tribal kidsUdaipur
Rajasthan’s first Paperless OfficeJaipur Collectorate
First Agricultural Engineering College of RajasthanSKN College of Agriculture at Jobner. Later on in 1955, was established at Udaipur.
ISRO’s Solar Observatory in RajasthanUdaipur, Rajasthan
ISRO’s Western RRSCJodhpur, Rajasthan
ISRO’s Infrared ObservatoryMount Abu, Rajasthan
First Newspaper published in Hindi in RajasthanRajasthan Patrika
First Newspaper published in RajasthanMazharul – Saroor, Bharatpur (1849)
Rajasthan’s first Project TigerRanthambore National Park (1973)

Leave a comment